Board News‎ > ‎

Trustee Election Results and the Annual General Meeting

posted Apr 24, 2015, 10:10 AM by Suzanne WARDINI   [ updated Apr 24, 2015, 10:32 AM ]
Trustee elections 
Trustee elections were held last night at the ISD Association Annual General Meeting. 

Sincere thanks to all ISD Association Members (parents and faculty) who voted, either in person at the AGM or through absentee ballot. Seven candidates ran for five seats and it was a very close race. ISD was very fortunate to have such a stellar group of qualified parents who ran. I would like to sincerely thank all candidates for running.

Congratulations to the five candidates who were elected for the 2015-2017 term of office, listed here in alphabetical order: Thiaba Camara Sy, Jennifer Grant, Papa Madiaw Ndiaye, Gilles Meura and Linda Percy.

236 ISD association members voted this year (an increase from last year’s voter turnout of 199). 153 of the ballots cast were absentee ballots.

Votes were counted and tallied by the Election Counting Committee* made up of ISD staff and faculty. The Election Counting Committee was appointed, as is the case every year, prior to the elections. Sincere thanks to the Committee.

Board officers for the 2015-2016 school year will be elected at the 7 May 2015 Board of Trustees meeting.

Annual General Meeting
The Annual General Meeting is where ISD administration and Board report annually on their work and goals. 

It is also an opportunity for the school to recognize staff members from all areas of the school for their service to ISD. Elementary school Principal Ian Clark presented 5, 10, 20 and 25-year service awards to several ISD staff and faculty members. Congratulations to all recipients. 

Secondary school Principal Brad Bell shared an overview of college acceptances obtained by ISD graduates over the past five years and by this year’s senior class. 

Director Alan Knobloch spoke on the highlights of this academic year and the school’s new Strategic Plan. Board Treasurer Thiaba Camara Sy reviewed school finances and gave a preview of next year’s budget. Board Chair Vesna de la Borde reported on the Board of Trustees’ activities and goals for this year. 

Key findings from the 2015 Parent and Student Satisfaction Surveys were shared by Alan Knobloch. This year, the survey was completed by 335 ISD students (grade 3 and up) and 191 ISD parents. 

Two amendments to the ISD Articles of Association and Bylaws proposed by the Board of Trustees were voted upon and passed. 

Questions from the floor were moderated by Board Vice-Chair Gráinne MacRae.

The meeting was adjourned following trustee candidates’ speeches and voting.

Vesna de la Borde, Chair, ISD Board of Trustees

*Election Counting Committee
Emefa Atiase, Gina Barker, Marylene Michelet, Sam Pennypacker, Anja Sebunya and Suzanne Wardini.